Bioshock Infinite DLC Announced, Finally


BurialTo those of you that didn’t know, Bioshock Infinite is probably my all time favorite game series and easily one of my favorite games of all time. It’s rare we get such a gem of a game that makes you have feelings and question reality to the extent that Infinite does. Now I’ve been holding out for the DLC, having purchased the Season Pass on day one. And it seems that since I spent a day away from Steam, I missed the first DLC hitting.

Clash in the Clouds is a challenge pack. Instead of adding a new story line or building on the preexisting one, Infinite plans now to have 60 new challenges to tackle while they wait for the first story-driven download. At $5 it’s still something most people will get. I haven’t had a chance to play it since I’m currently in-between apartments, but the general reviews seem to be putting it at a 4/5. It’s good, but it’s not great. I feel these opinions may be biased since everyone is holding out for a story-driven add-on. And that’s where the next announced DLC comes in.

With a name like Burial at Sea, we have to wonder where exactly the story is going. It lands Booker back together with Elizabeth in Rapture. But not the dystopian Rapture we all know and love. This time we get to see Rapture in its prime and watch the descent into madness. Judging from the trailer, it’s not the same Booker and Elizabeth we know from Infinite. It seems these characters are part of what, without spoiling anything, the ending of the game was hinting at.

I’m still freaking out about seeing Rapture in its prime though. I’ve spent countless hours rummaging through the darkness of the Rapture and to see Rapture all bright and shiny blows my mind. It’s also exactly what myself and my fellow Bioshock lovers have been hoping for. On top of this, it’s part one of the story line where we will get another story later that links into this one in which we get to play as Elizabeth. I can’t put into words how excited I am for this. Both Burial at Sea and the follow-up are priced at $15. What I’m trying to say is if you have Infinite, and want the DLC (which I mean who wouldn’t?) go get the Season Pass for $20. You won’t regret it, I know I already don’t.

Robert LaSure is a writer at Girl Gamer Vogue and PC/3DS Enthusiast.

One response to “Bioshock Infinite DLC Announced, Finally

  1. Pingback: Trailer Breakdown: Burial at Sea | ggvogue·

Leave a Reply

