Neil Gaiman’s Wayward Manor Game


wayward_manor

In a Kickstarter like fashion, Neil Gaiman gives fans the ability to buy perks early for his new adventure/puzzle game, “Wayward Manor” set for December 2013 release. The game will be published by Moonshark and created by The Odd Gentlemen.

The story, set in New England during the roaring 20s, is inspired by films like Arsenic and Old Lace, Blithe Spirit, and The Man Who Came to Dinner. You play as a ghost trying to get your house back from its new inhabitants. By driving the new owners mad, you absorb fear and use it to do even more dastardly things.

wayward_manor1

Some of the inhabitants at Wayward Manor

Some of the early perks include getting a digital copy of the game, artbook, your name in the game, invitation to the L.A. launch party, or dinner with Neil himself! Do I wish I had $10,000 to blow right now.

I first started reading Gaiman via Vertigo’s The Sandman series. I was blown away. Soon I started going through his novels like American Gods and Neverwhere. Similar to how I haven’t watched every Fred Astaire movie because I want to space them out across my lifetime, I do the same with my favorite authors.  I urge you to check out his stuff if you’re not yet convinced this game is going to be awesome.

Find Gaiman on Twitter, Tumblr, or online.

Svenna is a writer and the Public Relations Director for Girl Gamer Vogue. For more from Svenna, check out her Twitter Twitch and YouTube Channel.

Leave a Reply

